23
Tue, Jul
21 New Articles

AEW's Will Ospreay wins International Championship

Double Or Nothing
Typography
  • Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times

To kick off tonight’s AEW Double or Nothing 2024 main card, a hard hitting championship match ended in a title change.

There was a big opening match on tonight’s pay-per-view as Roderick Strong looked to defend his International Championship against Will Ospreay.
But Strong wasn’t alone as he came not only to the ring with the Kingdom (Matt Taven and Mike Bennett), later there would be an interference from Wardlow.
However after an interference from Wardlow, referee Bryce Remsburg wouldn’t have any of it and the Undisputed Kingdom was eventually banned from ringside.

After a hard hitting back and forth match continued, it finally came down to an exciting final sequence.
When the referee was checking on Roderick Strong, Don Callis popped up to give Will Ospreay a fastardly pep talk, encouraging him to use the move he previously said he would not do.
However when Ospreay had Strong up he instead hesitated and did not hit the Tiger Driver 97, instead letting Strong out of the move.

Strong battled back and captured another near fall but the match continued until finally Ospreay hit a big finishing move.
With a Storm Breaker and a pinfall, Will Ospreay captured his first AEW championship, becoming the new International Champion.
For all the latest AEW news, click here.

Comments powered by CComment